BHA announces shortlisted nominees for the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 

17 Dec 2016 Education/Training


Following this year’s record nominations, the BHA has today announced the shortlisted nominees for the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

The panel of 12 judges have overseen 301 applications and taken on the unenviable task of narrowing them down to just ten finalists in each of the six categories.

The next stage of judging will now begin with judges speaking directly to all candidates who have made it onto the shortlist. The judges will consider those conversations alongside the written nominations before narrowing the candidates down to just three finalists per category.

The final stage of judging will take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony, Monday 20 February 2017, where finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will then decide the winners and runners-up for each category. The results will be revealed later that evening at the awards ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the Judging Panel said:

“This is a humbling task because reading through the citations highlights how many good people there are in our racing world and choosing between them is a painful business.

“The competition would not even start unless individual nominators took the trouble to make the entries. The judges would like to thank everyone for getting involved and understand that many will be disappointed not to make the next stage. There is always next year!

“Meanwhile, the judging panel would like to congratulate everyone who has got through to the next stage and we now must perm sets of three from ten. It won’t be easy but we do it in admiration.”

The shortlist nominees are listed below:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award:

Nominee Nominees Yard/Stud
Lily Fitzpatrick Lawney Hill
Marco Ghiani Luca Cumani
Oliver Hayes Fittocks Stud
Dillan Bobby Hurst Susan Corbett
Anthony Lynch Wadacre Stud
Jessica O’ Kane Kristin Stubbs
June Palmer Kimpton Ben Haslam
Ray Polar David Griffiths
Stacey Whitehead Gary Hanmer
Elisha Whittington Tom Dascombe

Leadership Award:

Nominee Nominees Yard/Stud
Andrew Dickinson Gary Moore
Michael Finn Graham McPherson
Claire Freeman Dan Skelton
Steven Howarth Kevin Ryan
Hayley Kelly Mark Johnston
Rory O’Dowd Brian Meehan
Gary O’Neill Charlie Appleby
Kate Robinson Jamie Snowden
Nicola Studart Jonathan Portman
Alyson West Sir Mark Prescott


Rider Groom Award:

Nominee Nominees Yard
Jamie Bunsell Paul Henderson
Chloe Emsley Anthony Honeyball
Jason Favell William  Haggas
Jonathan Hinch Godolphin
Joy Morton Kenny Johnson
Chetan Singh Andrew Balding
Toni Sydall Richard Hannon
Patrick Trainor Mark Johnston
Catherine Walton Micky Hammond
Suzie  Young Nick and Jane Williams


Stud Staff Award:

Nominee Nominees Stud
Robert Bowley Juddmonte Farm
Jo Brown Overbury Stud
Kelly Cole Trinity Park Stud
Terry Doherty Watership Down Stud
James Fitzjohn Swanbridge Bloodstock
Sarah Taylor Mickley Stud
Keith Warburton Shade Oak Stud
Rachael Weaver Yorton Farm Stud
Dennis Williams Endless Acres Stud
David Wymbs Meon Valley Stud

Dedication to Racing:

Nominee Nominees Yard/Stud
Ruth Burchell Dai Burchell
Belinda (Bee) Chapman William Jarvis
Steven Davis Daniel Loughnane
William Gleed Marco Botti
Ronald Green John Quinn
Kim Jones Malcolm Saunders
Yasmin Elizabeth (Liz) Mullen Gay Kellaway
Colin Nutter Sir Mark Prescott
Melville Soles Pat Murphy
Bryn Walker Hugo Palmer


Rory Macdonald Community Award:

Nominee         Current employer
Michelle Bardsley The Northern Racing College
Richard Farquhar Currently unemployed
Angela French The Racing Centre
Gary Humphries Godolphin
Lisa Kozak Oliver Sherwood
Sarah Monkman Racing Welfare
Margaret Moore NRC volunteer
Adam Nish Musselburgh Racecourse
Kevin Parsons National Association of Stable Staff
Peter Williams British Racing School


Notes to editors:

1. The categories are: Leadership Award, Dedication Award, Rider/Groom Award, Stud Staff Award, Rory MacDonald Community Award, David Nicholson Newcomer Award.

2. The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the Rory MacDonald Community Award will receive £5,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice. The two runners-up will receive £2,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. The winner of this award will also receive an additional prize of a 5 day Educational trip to Dubai. Return flights and accommodation in a 5* hotel included.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

3. Last year saw the launch of the ‘Rory MacDonald Community Award’, which will acknowledge those who support stud and stable staff or have made an outstanding contribution to benefit the wider racing community. The Awards provide an opportunity for the racing industry to highlight and thank the hard work put in by stud and stable staff across the country, and this award in particular acknowledges people who have had a positive impact on their community.