14 Apr 2010 Pre-2014 Releases

The British Horseracing Authority is pleased to announce that Paul Greeves, a TBA Council member and the Operations Director at Weatherbys, and Channel 4 and Racing UK presenter Nick Luck will be joining the Flat Racing Committee replacing trainer John Dunlop and journalist Howard Wright.

After four years on the Jump Racing Committee, John Smee, Jockey Club Racecourse Group Racing Director, stands down with Robert Waley-Cohen joining.

BHA Director of Racing Ruth Quinn said: “John Dunlop and Howard Wright have both served on the Flat Racing committee for over twenty years. John Smee’s work on the Jump Racing Committee has also proved invaluable.

“We owe them a debt of gratitude for their commitment and their time, which they have always given generously, and for their thoughtful, measured and passionate views which have been of immense value.”

Notes for Editors

  1. John Dunlop was a member of the Flat Racing Committee from 1987 until the end of 2009; Howard Wright from 1986 to the end of 2009. 

About the Flat and Jump Racing Committees

1     They operate as a sub-committee of the Racing Committee, have responsibility for considering issues and recommending policy and detail on all matters within the scope of the Racing Committee relating to Flat or Jump racing.

2     This will include advising on all matters relating to maintaining and improving a Pattern, to test the best horses in a range of distances, programmed throughout the season.  The Flat Racing sub-committee should aim to provide a race planning framework within which the breeding of quality bloodstock and the improvement of the thoroughbred are stimulated, and thus have regard for the effect that any implemented recommendations may have on the shape and progression of the breed and on the long-term health of the racing programme.

3     They keep under review the conditions and conduct of Pattern and Listed races, and the Ground Rules for selection and rejection of Pattern and Listed races, and recommend any necessary adjustments.  They also monitor the Pattern and Listed race programmes of Great Britain’s principal international competitors and the FRSC considers any requested alterations to the Pattern race programme of the other European Pattern Committee member countries.

4     Both are non-representative committees.  The terms of reference state, for instance, that members of the FRSC will be appointed by the Racing Committee and will comprise a broad spectrum of individuals who have a particular interest in, and knowledge of, Flat racing and who are invited as individuals rather than as representatives or nominees of any particular body.


Paul Greeves

Paul Greeves commenced his career in the industry when joining Weatherbys in 1970.  He was appointed to their board in 1983.  Shortly after, and for a ten year period, he was seconded to the Jockey Club as their Operations Director before joining the newly created British Horseracing Board as Racing Director in 1993. In January 2002 he re-joined Weatherbys as Operations Director and is presently Executive Director of Weatherbys and a Director of Weatherbys Bank.  He is also a Trustee of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association and is Chairman of the Trustees of the Northern Racing College.

Nick Luck

            Nick Luck has worked in broadcasting since 2002. After receiving a Masters in French Literature from King’s College London, he worked initially as a presenter for Attheraces, before joining Racing UK when it began in May 2004. He has also become a familiar face as part of the Channel 4 Racing team since starting in July 2004. He has held the title of HWPA Racing Broadcaster of the Year for the last three years (2007-2009).

Robert Waley-Cohen

            Robert Waley-Cohen has owned racehorses since 1973. Chief Executive of Alliance Medical Ltd from 1989 to 2005, he has been involved in numerous racing groups including as a Director of Racing Enterprises Ltd, Deputy Chairman of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association, and Chairman of the Point-to-Point Board. He is also a Trustee of the Animal Health Trust and an elected member of the Council of the National Trust and was elected a member of the Jockey Club in 1983. He has held a training permit since 1985.