24 Nov 2009 Pre-2014 Releases

• Godolphin increases prize money to £120,000
• Award dates and nomination period announced today

It has today been announced that the prize fund for the Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2010 has been increased to £120,000 by the sponsors Godolphin. The Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2010 will take place on Monday 1st March, with the nomination period running from 4th January – 5th February, 2010.

Nominations will be open to everyone from within Racing, whether an owner, trainer or work colleague. Those who are shortlisted will be invited to meet the Judging Panel on the 28th February 2010 and to attend the Awards the following day (March 1st 2010), where the final category winners will be announced.

The Stud and Stable Staff Awards were initiated in 2005 to recognise the achievements of racing’s key staff. They are generously sponsored by Godolphin and are run by the British Horseracing Authority, in conjunction with the Racing Post.

Following a significant review process, a number of changes have been implemented to the Awards for 2010, making the judging process more robust and the nomination process simpler than before.

There are six Award categories:
• David Nicholson Newcomer (less than 5 years in industry)
• Senior Staff / High Achiever (for those who have strived to progress their career within the industry)
• Rider/Groom
• Stud Staff
• Dedication to Racing (more than 10 years in the industry)
• NASS Special Merit (nominated by NASS members, for a NASS member)

Each category winner will receive £5,000 and the runners-up £2,000, apart from the new NASS category where £5,000 is pledged to the winner in special recognition of their efforts. Category winners, excluding the winner of the Newcomer Award, then go forward for the overall Stud and Stable Staff Employee of the Year Award, boasting a grand prize of £25,000 to be split between winner and yard, together with The Godolphin Trophy, a memento of their success.

Crucially an identical amount to category winners and runners-up will also be given to the winners’ yards to be shared among the rest of the staff. The NASS Special Merit Award will not include a yard contribution as it is very much focused on the individual winner’s achievements.
Nomination forms and entry criteria will be available for download from, where a sample nomination can be viewed for assistance in completing the forms. Forms will also be available via email, text or phone with the aim of making the nomination process as simple and effective as possible.

A Judging Panel made up of six influential racing figures is also to be announced to the public in the near future.

British Horseracing Authority Director of Communications Jon Ryan said: “Godolphin have always been extremely generous with their sponsorship and to have increased the prize-money to £120,000 shows just how highly they think of the Awards. A great deal of time and effort has been put into improving both the nomination and judging process and a number of industry figureheads have been consulted. Now it is up to everyone in the sport to ensure the record prize-money is matched with a record number of entries in 2010.”

Trainers and studs with any questions should contact Amy Sherman on 020 7152 0115 or [email protected] For media enquiries please contact Turia Tellwright on 020 7152 0163 or Paul Struthers on 020 7152 0162.