13 Dec 1999 Pre-2014 Releases

Jockey Club Appointments 2000

Published: 13 December 1999


David Oldrey was re-elected as a Steward of The Jockey Club for six months and will continue as one of The Jockey Club Directors on BHB and as Chairman of BHB’s Race Planning Committee until June 2000. Gurney Sheppard was re-elected as a Steward of The Jockey Club for a further year and will continue as Chairman of the Licensing Committee and Point to Point Liaison Committee. Christopher Hodgson
was elected as a Steward of The Jockey Club for three years and will serve as Chairman of
the Disciplinary Committee.


The Meeting also ratified membership of The Jockey Club Standing Committees which are as follows:

Disciplinary Committee (incorporating Stewarding Arm)

Disciplinary Committee
Christopher Hodgson, Chairman
Michael Wyatt, Joint Deputy Chairman
Duke of Roxburghe (Guy), Joint Deputy Chairman
Tim Motley
Andrew Merriam
Alastair Macdonald-Buchanan
Stephen Webb

Stewarding Arm
Gerald Maitland-Carew, Chairman and Joint Deputy Chairman and Disciplinary Committee
Wentworth Beaumont
Christopher Hall
Michael Wiggin
Lord McGowan (Duncan)
Anthony Mildmay-White

Disciplinary Review Committee
Robert Waley-Cohen, Chairman ex-officio
Lord Vestey (Sam), Deputy Chairman
Michael Wiggin
Sir Michael Connell
Michael Wates

Licensing Committee
Gurney Sheppard, Chairman
Peter Innes
Susan Wood
Lady Richard Wellesley (Joanna)
Lord McGowan (Duncan)

The Jockey Club Nominees to the BHB are Christopher Spence, Sir David Sieff and David Oldrey (until June 2000).

Notes for Editors

Christopher Hodgson’s biographical details are as follows:


Christopher Hodgson, 50, was elected to the Jockey Club in 1995. He has been a member of the Disciplinary Committee since 1997 and its Deputy Chairman for the past two years. He has acted as a steward at Towcester, Warwick and Sandown and is a Director of the Steeplechase Company (Cheltenham).

Having been involved with several racehorse ownerships, he has recently become Chairman of Cheltenham Racing Ltd, a racing company with 250 members owning 4 horses in training. These include Zaitoon with Alan King, Lady of Gortmeron with Nigel Twiston-Davies and horses with Venetia Williams and Ian Williams.

Christopher Hodgson is Group Chief Executive of Greenwich Insurance Holdings plc, a Lloyd’s underwriting company and Chairman of the Stop Loss Mutual Association Ltd.