Nominations open for the 2015 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

23 Sep 2014 Grassroots

  • Nomination period extended to 12 weeks
  • Judging panel increased from six to 12 people
  • Nominations close Friday 12 December 2014

Nominations open today for the 11th annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, with £120,000 in prize money to be awarded to some of the most dedicated staff in the industry, and their respective yards.

In order to continue to improve the Awards, this year sees revisions to the judging process. The judging panel will increase from six to 12 judges, providing a greater range of backgrounds, experience and locations. All nominations will be now be independently reference checked before going to the panel of judges and every verified nomination will be reviewed by members of the judging panel. The nomination period has also been extended, to give Flat and National Hunt trainers as well as Stud Managers more time to nominate in what can be a busy time of year. Every nominee will receive a signed certificate in recognition of their 2015 nomination and the three Rider/Groom finalists will receive a stable visit from a member of the judging Panel.

The Awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post, are divided into the following categories; Leadership Award, Rider/Groom Award, Stud Staff Award, Dedication to Racing Award, David Nicholson Newcomer Award and the Administration Staff Award.

The Awards have gone from strength to strength in showcasing the outstanding talent, diligence and workmanship of those individuals who are at the heart of racing. To mark the 10th anniversary of the awards last year, the ceremony was held in the evening for the first time. Following that success, this year’s winners will receive their prizes during an evening ceremony held before an invited audience at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge, London on Monday 23 February 2015.

Paul Bittar, Chief Executive for BHA, said:

“These Awards are now well-established and recognise and reward the most dedicated and diligent of stud and stable staff. With this in mind, judges will be focusing on stand out achievements made over the last year, such as someone who has had an association with a specific horse or achieved a particular milestone or remarkable act, which makes them deserving of special recognition.

“This year sees a revision to the judging process, with the addition of new judges; the result being an even more thorough assessment of all nominations throughout the different stages of the judging process. Thanks must go to Godolphin for their generous sponsorship of the Awards and to the Racing Post for their continued support. We urge trainers, stud managers and owners to make this year’s nominations the best yet.”

Hugh Anderson, Managing Director of Godolphin and Darley (UK), said:

“Godolphin is delighted to once again sponsor the prestigious Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards. The Awards are part of the fabric of sport and are a wonderful opportunity to honour and reward the hard work and dedication of all stable and stud staff who play such a vital role in our industry.”

Nominations are open until Friday 12 December 2014 and can be made by anyone within the industry. This means trainers, owners, managers or colleagues can all show their appreciation for the hard work of stud and stable staff.

The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. The winner of the Administration Staff Award will win £5,000, with £5,000 to their yard or stud. There are no runner-up prizes for the Administration Staff Award.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

Due to the extended nomination period this year, all nominations made before 1 November will receive a 50 per cent discount on Racing Post Books orders.

Nominations can be completed and submitted online:

Nomination forms will also be sent out to all trainers and stud owners and are also available for download at via

Alternatively, email [email protected] or simply text AWARDS to 07584 171551 and a member of the team will arrange for a form to be sent out.