Nominations open for 2019 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

05 Sep 2018 BHA Features Grassroots
  • Nominations open on Wednesday 5 September and close on Tuesday 20 November
  • £120,000 prize money up for grabs again in 2019
  • Nomination process will be online only for the first time this year
  • Nominations can be made for the first time via video

Nominations are officially open as of today, Wednesday 5 September 2018, for the 2019 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

The awards, now in their 15th year, recognise and reward the outstanding skills, commitment and contribution of over 10,000 stud and stable staff.

Sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post, the awards provide total prize money of £120,000, with up to £40,000 available to a single yard or stud.

Nominations will close on Tuesday 20 November 2018, and for the first time can only be completed online via the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards website,

A purely online application process will result in it being more efficient and streamlined, as well as making the process more convenient and easier to manage for nominators.

Video submissions will also be accepted for the first time in advance of the 2019 awards, ensuring that the nominations procedure is as fair as possible for all those involved, irrespective of their level of written communication and language skills.

Click below to view the Godolphin Stud and Stable Awards 2019 promo video:


Hugh Anderson, Managing Director of Godolphin (UK and Dubai), said:

“Godolphin is again delighted to sponsor these prestigious awards in 2019 which have become a highlight of the racing industry’s year. It is so important to reward those devoted, dedicated people who do so much for our industry and on behalf of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al Maktoum, I wish all those nominated the best of luck.”

As well as recognising and rewarding stud and stable staff, the awards are an advertisement for racing as a great place to work and an industry that looks after its horses and its people. The ‘Rory MacDonald Community Award’ recognises those connected with the industry who contribute to benefit the wider community.

Nick Rust, Chief Executive of the BHA, said:

“People who work at yards and studs up and down the country do so much work behind the scenes to provide exceptional care for our horses and keep the racing and breeding industries running.

“These awards are vitally important and remind us year on year of some of the inspirational people who we are so lucky to work alongside.”

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will once again benefit from a five-day educational trip to Dubai to learn more about the country’s racing, culture and custom. The prize includes return flights and five nights’ accommodation in a luxury hotel and is in addition to the £2,000 prize money for the winner and £2,000 for their yard, courtesy of Godolphin.

Alan Byrne, Chief Executive and Editor-in-Chief of the Racing Post, said:

“Racing Post is proud to be associated with these wonderful awards, which have done so much to give stud and stable staff the recognition they so richly deserve. We would encourage everyone who is lucky enough to employ talented and dedicated staff in their racing yard or stud farm to nominate them for one of the fantastic prizes on offer as a result of Sheikh Mohammed’s continuing generosity.”

Nominations are now open for owners, trainers, breeders, colleagues and managers to show their appreciation for hard-working members of staff by nominating online here.

Last year’s winner of the Employee of The Year Award, Jessica McLernon, said:

“It was such an honour to win the Leadership Award and be named Employee of the Year for 2018 and I want to thank everyone at Musley Bank and throughout the industry who supported me during the nomination and selection process. If you know of, or work with, someone who you think is deserving of these awards, please nominate them – I can think of no better way to show them the appreciation they deserve and make them feel like a valued member of our industry.”

Notes to editors:

1.    The categories are: Leadership Award, Dedication Award, Rider/Groom Award, Stud Staff, Rory MacDonald Community Award and David Nicholson Newcomer Award (n.b. the David Nicholson Newcomer Award is for people who entered racing within the last three years).

2. The ‘Rory MacDonald Community Award’ acknowledges those who support the stud and stable staff or have made an outstanding contribution to benefit the wider racing community. The Awards provide an opportunity for the racing industry to highlight and thank the hard work put in by stud and stable staff across the country, and this award in particular acknowledges people who have had a positive impact on their community.

3. The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the Rory MacDonald Community Award will receive £5,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice. The two runners-up will receive £2,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. There is an additional prize for the winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award, which includes return flights, a five-day educational tour of Dubai together with five nights’ accommodation in a five-star hotel.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.