Shortlist nominees for Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2016 announced

08 Jan 2016

Following a record number of nominations for the 2016 awards, the shortlist of finalists for the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have today been announced.

The 12-strong Panel have managed to finalise the 220-plus nominations down to just ten finalists in each of the six categories.

The second stage of judging will now get under way and the judges will be speaking to all the shortlisted nominees and considering the written nominations in order to narrow the candidates down to three finalists per category.

The third and final stage of judging will take place in London on Monday 22 February. All the finalists will be interviewed by the judges to decide the winners and runners-up in each category and these will be revealed by Clare Balding later that evening at the Awards Ceremony in London.


Brough Scott, Chairman of the Judging Panel said:

“Judging these awards is inspiring and I am honoured to be a part of it. Talking to the individuals on the shortlist gives me great admiration of racing staff and what it means to those who work closest to these wonderful horses. It is such a difficult task to pick just three finalists out of so many deserving nominations, inevitably we cause some disappointment but it’s worth noting that a number of the finalists have received previous nominations, which reflects the highly competitive nature of the Awards as well as the fact that perseverance does pay off.


“All of the judges would like to send their congratulations to all those people who have been both nominated and now shortlisted. They are recognised for all the hard work they put in and we would like to wish the best of luck to the 18 finalists. I hope everyone in racing will continue to welcome what these awards represent and show their support for them.”


The shortlists are:


David Nicholson Newcomer Award

Nominees Nominees yard
Callum  Pittendreigh Richard Fahey
Sophie Jarvis Harry Fry
Lorna Towers John Gosden
Lauren Lucas Micky Hammond
Lester Futter Sue Higgins
Harry Russell Malcolm Jefferson
Rahul Kamble Tom Dascombe
Ellie Farrell Dianne Sayer
Laura Winstanley Michael Stoute
Amber Mitchell Ralph Beckett


Leadership Award

Nominees Nominees yard
Keith Evans Mick Channon
Amy Murphy Luca Cumani
Phillip Machin Brian Meehan
Stephen Radley George Baker
Abi Harrison Jane Chapple-Hyam
Gemma Hogg Micky Hammond
Carol Burnett Phillip Hobbs
Hayley Kelly Mark Johnston
Matthew Howells Alan King
Donna Hills Paul Nicholls


Dedication to Racing Award

Nominees Nominees yard
Samantha Dwan Nigel Tinkler
Fran Whyte Nick Alexander
Marie Murphy Charlie Appleby
Angela Cheshire Andrew Balding
Claire Goodenough William Haggas
Robert Hempton Richard Fahey
William Reddy Eve Johnson Houghton
Ray Eyre Darley (O’Rourke)
Jane Smith John Ryan
Alfred Mills Christopher Fairhurst


Stud Staff Award

Nominees Nominees yard
Mark Zipfel Shadwell (Cooper)
Sue Caldwell Newsells Park (Dollar)
Stuart Thom Lofts Hall (Lascelles)
Gillian Knight Yorton Farm (Futter)
Jacques Prinsloo Whitsbury Manor (Harper)
Susan Jannaway North Farm (Muir)
Nicky Strippel Beech Tree  (Munnis)
Martin Redmond Darley (O’Rourke)
Bob Whittington Lavington Stud (Read)
Dan Matty Overbury (Sweeting)


Rider/Groom Award

Nominees Nominees yard
Christopher Ely Tom Dascombe
Alyson Deniel Richard Fahey
Emily Blood Charlie Fellowes
David Williams John Gosden
Becky Smith Micky Hammond
Joy Morton Kenny Johnson
Willie Ryan Charlie Appleby
Suzie Young Nick Williams
Jason Favell William Haggas
Gary Milligan Saeed Bin Suroor


Rory MacDonald Community Award

Charlotte Wilson
Angela French
Richard Farquhar
Tim Adams
Norman Gundill
Raye Wilkinson
Mike Filby
Gail Turner
Lisa Delany
Helen Yeadon


Notes to editors:


1. The Awards are generously sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post.


2. The winners of the Leadership, Rider Groom, Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. The two runners-up in these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their year or stud.


The winner of the Rory MacDonald Community Award will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional prize of £5,000 going to the charity of their choice.  The two runners-up will win £2,000 each with the same amount going to their charity of choice.


The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard.
The Employee of the Year will receive an additional £15,000, with the same amount awarded to their yard or stud.


3. The Judging Panel is: Tabbi Smith, Sally Aston, Ian Balding, Mark Bradburne, Dale Gibson, Dawn Goodfellow, Matt Mancini, Jessica Fortt, George McGrath, Dinah Nicholson, Brough Scott (Chairman), Peter Scudamore.