All Party Parliamentary Group for the Racing and Bloodstock Industries backs suspension of racing and offers support for the industry

21 Mar 2020 BHA Features Financial/Political

The British Horseracing Authority is publishing, with their permission, a letter received from the Co-Chairs of the All Party Parliamentary Group for the Racing and Bloodstock Industries, outlining their support of the industry during the coronavirus pandemic:

These are unprecedented times that require the whole nation and government to work together to tackle the coronavirus (COVID-19) public health emergency.

In dealing with the economic crisis that accompanies it, much has rightly been made of the urgent need for the government to support the leisure, hospitality, entertainment and retail sectors, and protect jobs.

We are clear that the livelihoods of hundreds of thousands of people who rely on the horse racing and betting industries must represent a key part of that; from racecourses such as Cheltenham and Haydock in our constituencies, to training and breeding yards and jockeys, as well as bookmakers on high streets across the country. The financial security and jobs of the people who work in racing and all its component parts is paramount.

As Joint Chairs of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Racing and Bloodstock, we supported the difficult but correct decision to suspend racing. It was the only reasonable course of action to take for the public good, in the national interest and to preserve the longer-term reputation and positive image of our sport.

We are now calling on the Government to recognise racing’s responsible actions by playing its role in securing the future and sustainability of our great sport, which makes such a significant financial, cultural and social contribution to our country.

We will now, as always, be fully behind racing in the extremely challenging and uncertain times ahead.

Yours sincerely,

Conor McGinn MP                                   Laurence Robertson MP
MP for St Helens North                             MP for Tewkesbury


1. The original letter can be viewed here.