09 May 2008 Pre-2014 Releases

British and Irish horseracing will celebrate a vintage season of jump racing at the British Horseracing Authority and Irish Turf Club Jump Racing Awards, to be held in central London on Monday, 12th May.

Based on and coinciding with the publication of the Anglo-Irish National Hunt Classifications, the equine Awards will officially celebrate the highest-rated horses of the 2007/08 season in various categories. The British Horseracing Authority will also honour the Champion Conditional, Jockey, Trainer and Owner in Britain.

Leading BBC broadcaster Clare Balding will host the Awards at the Café Royal in front of a specially-invited audience of over 200, including jump racing’s leading owners, trainers and jockeys.

The winners in each category will be presented with their trophies by BHA Chairman Paul Roy and Senior Steward of the Irish National Hunt Steeplechase Committee John Moloney.

The Horse of the Year Award will be judged by a panel of representatives from both BHA and the Turf Club, and be awarded to the horse that, while achieving an outstanding level of racecourse achievement, did the most to raise the profile of Jump Racing over the season. The Awards will also include the formal presentation of the 2007/08 Order of Merit prizes, with £300,000 being split between the owner, trainer and stable teams of the top three horses in the series.

The Award categories will be as follows:

• Champion Novice Hurdler
• Champion Novice Chaser
• Champion Two-Mile Hurdler
• Champion Two-Mile Chaser
• Champion Two-and-a-Half Mile + Hurdler
• Champion Two-and-a-Half Mile Chaser
• Champion Three-Mile + Chaser
• Champion British Conditional
• Champion British Jockey
• Champion British Trainer
• Champion British Owner
• Horse of the Year