28 Apr 2010 Pre-2014 Releases

The Anglo-Irish Jump Awards have been confirmed to take place on Monday 24th May 2010 at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in central London, during which the British Horseracing Authority and Irish Turf Club will recognize Jump Racing’s star horses and leading individuals from the 2009/10 season.

Based on and coinciding with the publication of the Anglo-Irish National Hunt Classifications, the prestigious equine Awards will officially celebrate the highest-rated horses of the season in various categories. The British Horseracing Authority will also honour A P McCoy, Paul Nicholls, J P McManus and Rhys Flint, the season’s Champion Jockey, Trainer, Owner and Conditional Jockey in Britain.

In a new twist, the highly-regarded ‘Horse of the Year’ Award will be chosen through a public vote for the first time, details of which will be announced shortly.

Clare Balding, the BBC’s leading broadcaster, will host the Awards in front of a specially-invited audience of around 200, where the season’s finest moments will be witnessed again. The 2009/10 season was another vintage year, blessed with some awe-inspiring performances from the likes of Denman’s second Hennessy success, Kauto Star making history when winning his fourth consecutive King George VI Chase, Willie Mullins’ impressive haul of wins at the Punchestown Festival, Imperial Commander winning the Gold Cup at Cheltenham and most recently, Don’t Push It giving A P McCoy his first taste of Grand National victory on his fifteenth attempt.

The Award categories will be as follows:

•       Racing for Change Order of Merit Champion

•       2009 Pony Racing Champions

•       Champion Novice Hurdler

•       Champion Novice Chaser

•       Champion Two-Mile Hurdler

•       Champion Two-Mile Chaser

•       Champion Two-and-a-Half Mile + Hurdler

•       Champion Two-and-a-Half Mile Chaser

•       Champion Three-Mile + Chaser

•       Champion British Conditional

•       Champion British Jockey

•       Champion British Trainer

•       Champion British Owner

•       Horse of the Year

Paul Roy, Chairman of the British Horseracing Authority, commented:
“We’re delighted to be joining forces with The Turf Club to celebrate a phenomenal season in Jump Racing.  It was full of memorable performances and the Awards promise to be a terrific showcase of all that is great about the sport.”