BHA confirms switch of races from Turf to All-Weather at Lingfield Park from 4 June to 10 September

20 Apr 2022 BHA Features Racing/Fixtures

The BHA has today confirmed that all Flat Turf fixtures scheduled to be staged at Lingfield Park from 4 June 2022 to 10 September 2022 will be switched to the venue’s All-Weather track in order to allow for extensive drainage work to be undertaken.The affected fixtures are:

  • Saturday 4 June – Evening
  • Monday 6 June – Afternoon
  • Saturday 18 June – Evening
  • Saturday 25 June – Evening
  • Wednesday 6 July – Afternoon
  • Wednesday 13 July – Evening
  • Wednesday 20 July – Afternoon
  • Saturday 23 July – Evening
  • Saturday 30 July – Evening
  • Saturday 6 August – Evening
  • Tuesday 9 August – Afternoon
  • Wednesday 24 August – Afternoon
  • Wednesday 31 August – Afternoon
  • Saturday 10 September – Afternoon

Both the Oaks and Derby trials staged at Lingfield Park will be unaffected by the switch, which has been agreed to, in order to ensure that the turf racing surface at Lingfield is maintained in the long-term optimal condition for both Flat and Jump Racing and meets all licensing conditions.Lingfield Park Clerk of the Course George Hill said: “There are a number of areas across the track that will really benefit from further drainage work and, as such, we have made the decision to get it done this summer.”“We are grateful to the BHA for their assistance in moving our June to September fixtures on to the all-weather surface. We undertook some work on the track last year, and were really pleased with the impact, and the work this summer will offer us greater protections for our winter jumps programme and the remedial work that we have to do leading into the spring and summer flat seasons.”Notes to editors:1. For further information please contact the BHA Racing Department on 0207 152 0050 or via racing@britishhorseracing.com.