14 Apr 2005 Pre-2014 Releases

Official recognition of the leading performers of the 2004/2005 season will take place at the BHB British Jump Racing Awards in central London on Monday 16th May.

The Awards, now in their second year and the only of their kind, will be based on the Anglo-Irish Classification, to be published on the day of the ceremony.

A specially-invited audience of around 200, including leading owners, trainers, jockeys, senior industry figures and the media, will gather to acknowledge the equine and human stars of the Jump Racing season in Britain.

The Awards ceremony will be preceded by the presentation of £250,000 to the owner, trainer and stable team behind Inglis Drever, Overall Winner of the inaugural Order of Merit. The Order of Merit Top Chaser, carrying a prize of £50,000, will also be honoured.

The full list of the BHB British Jump Racing Awards will be as follows:

• Champion Novice Hurdler
• Champion Novice Chaser
• Champion Two-Mile Hurdler
• Champion Two-Mile Chaser
• Champion Two-And-A-Half Mile + Hurdler
• Champion Two-And-A-Half Mile Chaser
• Champion Three-Mile + Chaser
• Champion Conditional
• Champion Jockey
• Champion Trainer
• Champion Owner
• Horse Of The Year

Each equine BHB Award will be won by the highest-rated horse in the respective Classifications category, provided that the horse is either trained in Britain or, if trained abroad, achieves the category-topping rating on a British racecourse.

BHB Marketing Director Chris John said: “These Awards are a showcase for British Jump Racing. The event is one of the highlights of my year and I look forward to celebrating the end of another fantastic season with the personalities that do so much to raise the profile of our sport.”