14 Dec 2012 Pre-2014 Releases

Banner Header 2

Leading sports television presenter Clare Balding will host the ninth annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards ceremony at the Jumeriah Carlton Towers in Knightsbridge on Monday March 4th 2013.

One of the most widely recognised faces in British racing, Balding’s support highlights the importance of the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards within the industry. The awards, which offer £120,000 in prize money across six categories, recognise and reward the hard work and dedication of stud and stable staff.

Speaking about the awards, Clare Balding said:

“Racing relies on the people who are closest to the horses, who look after them, ride them, read their moods and know when they are at their best or – just as important – when they’re not. These awards are the one opportunity racing has of recognising and applauding the stud and stable staff and I’m proud to support them,”

The Awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post, are divided into the following categories; the High Achiever Award, the Rider/Groom Award, the Stud Staff Award, Dedication to Racing Award, the David Nicholson Newcomer Award and, introduced for the first time this year, the Administration Staff Award.

As well as rewarding individual achievement, the Awards benefit the whole team, with separate cash prizes awarded to the yard of each winner. Two runners up in the five main categories will also receive a cash prize along with their yard or stud.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the category winners and will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

Nominations are open until Friday January 11th 2013 and can be made by anyone within the industry so trainer, owners, managers and colleagues can all show their appreciation.

The 2013 Award winners will be chosen from a shortlist who will be interviewed by a panel of judges overseen by Brough Scott. The winners will then be announced during the Awards lunch on Monday March 4th 2013.

Nomination forms are also available for download at and via Alternatively, email [email protected] or simply text AWARDS to 07584 171551 and a member of the team will arrange for a form to be sent out.