12 Dec 2000 Pre-2014 Releases

Election of New Jockey Club Members

Published: 12 December 2000


The following were elected as Honorary Members of the Jockey Club:

Mr David Hillyard

David Hillyard, 63, recently retired as Managing Director of Racecourse Holdings Trust after ten years in the post. He had previously worked for BP, Debenhams plc and Whitbread plc.

David Hillyard is a Director of Wincanton and has had small interests in National Hunt horses for a number of years.

The Lord Oaksey OBE (John)

Lord Oaksey, 71, is well-known and respected as a television commentator and journalist. He has written a column for the Daily Telegraph since 1957 and appeared regularly on Channel 4 Racing since 1986, additionally writing for Horse and Hound, the Sunday Telegraph and the Racing Post.

A very successful amateur rider from 1955-75, Lord Oaksey won the leading amateur riders’ title twice. He has won many high profile races including the Whitbread Gold Cup and the Hennessy Gold Cup, both on Taxidermist.

As a founder Trustee of the Injured Jockeys’ Fund, Lord Oaksey has devoted much time to the charity since its inception in 1964. After 18 years as a Trustee, he was appointed Chairman of the Injured Jockeys’ Fund in 1982.

The Chairman of the Australian Racing Board (ex officio)

The Australian Racing Board is a new federal body that comprises the principal Australian Race Clubs. It is responsible for reviewing and formulating the Australian Rules of Racing for all States, as well as framing the racing industry’s anti-doping regime and advising on integrity, welfare and Race Planning matters and thus ensuring that racing throughout Australia is conducted to common principles.

The Australian Racing Board is recognised by the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA) and the current Chairman is Bob Charley, former Chairman of the Australian Jockey Club.

The Australian Jockey Club (AJC) continues to enjoy Honorary Membership (ex officio) of The Jockey Club but in recent years its role has changed. The New South Wales Thoroughbred Racing Board is now responsible for the administration of racing in that State leaving the AJC to run racing at Randwick and Warwick Farm racecourses. The AJC’s joint ownership of the Australian Stud Book with the Victoria Racing Club remains unchanged.


The following were elected as Members of the Jockey Club:

Mr Michael Felton

Mike Felton, 45, is a steward at Taunton and Wincanton. Mens’ Champion Point-to-Point Rider on three occasions, he has ridden over 200 winners, 23 of which were under Rules. Having also ridden in three-day events, Mike is now involved in the organisation of BHS Horse Trials as well as Point to Point meetings.

Mike Felton farms in Somerset and is a Master of the Blackmore Vale Foxhounds.

The Lady Lloyd-Webber (Madeleine)

Lady Lloyd-Webber, 38, is the founder and co-owner of Watership Down Stud near Newbury and Kiltinian Castle Stud in Co Tipperary. Watership Down Stud has been achieving top prices for its yearlings over the last few years, culminating in a European auction record at this year’s Tattersalls’ Houghton Yearling Sales with the sale of a son of Saddlers Wells for 3.4m guineas.

A Director of Newbury, Lady Lloyd-Webber and her husband own Flat and NH racehorses, including Bacchanal (winner of Stayers’ Hurdle at the NH Festival) and Crystal Music (homebred by Nureyev who won the Group 1 Fillies Mile at Ascot) and currently have horses in training with several different trainers.

Before her marriage, Lady Lloyd-Webber was a top class International Three Day Eventer, representing Great Britain.

Mr Edmund Mahony

As Chairman of Tattersalls and Tattersalls (Ireland) Ltd., Edmund Mahony, 40, oversees the sale of 10,000 thoroughbred horses each year at 17 sales in Newmarket and Ireland. He retires from the Industry Committee this year after six years’ service representing UK Thoroughbred Auctioneers.

Edmund Mahony owns several NH store horses and has bred from Flat and NH mares; he has a share in a horse trained by James Eustace, through Park Lane Racing. He was formerly a successful Point-to-Point rider.

Mr David Turner

David Turner, 56, retains his position as the most successful men’s Point-to-Point rider with over 343 winners, as well as an additional 50 winners under Rules. He was Mens’ Champion Point-to-Point rider on eight occasions.

David Turner has been a racecourse steward since 1977, and is currently on the panels at Fakenham, Huntingdon, Newmarket and Yarmouth. He farms a 4,000 acre estate in Suffolk and his family continue to enjoy success owning and training point-to-pointers.