17 Feb 2010 Pre-2014 Releases

The fifty top entries for this year’s Stud and Stable Staff Awards are announced today, with the judging panel describing the quality of nominations as ‘exceptional’.

The judges have all agreed that their task this year has been the hardest they have faced and that every nominee deserved recognition for their service to the industry.

Dinah Nicholson, who has been on the panel for the last three years, said today:
“It’s so hard to separate the entries and I just wish there were more prizes to dish out to the ten shortlisted for each category. Every year, I am totally bowled over by the calibre of nominees and this year looks like a vintage one. I think it is so encouraging though that there has been an increase in the number of entries as it means these fantastic Awards continue to grow in prestige year on year. It is also fantastic to see owners and colleagues nominating this year. I would hate not to be part of it.”

The judging panel, made up of Brough Scott, Dinah Nicholson, Morag Grey, Miles Littlewort and John Reid, will now decide on three finalists for each category which will be announced next week, ahead of the Awards Ceremony on Monday 1st March, 2010 at the Jumeirah Carlton Hotel in London.

Of the six categories, each category winner will receive £5,000 and the runners-up £2,000, apart from the new NASS category where £5,000 is pledged to one winner only in special recognition of their efforts. Category winners, excluding the winner of the Newcomer Award, then go forward for the overall Stud and Stable Staff Employee of the Year Award, boasting a grand prize of £25,000 to be split between winner and yard, together with The Godolphin Trophy, a memento of their success.

Crucially an identical amount to category winners and runners-up will also be given to the yards where they work, to be shared among the rest of the staff. The NASS Special Merit Award will not include a yard contribution as it is very much focused on the individual winner’s achievements.

The longlist for each category is as follows:


Joseph Palmowski Ferdy Murphy Ferdy Murphy
James Gray Charlie Oakshott Charlie Oakshott
Graham Hunter Tom Dascombe Tom Dascombe
Joshua Newman Alan King Alan King
Harry Fry Dan Skelton Paul Nicholls
Maqsood Gilly Louise Allen Jim Boyle
Giovanni Napisarda Suzy Smith Suzy Smith
Hannah Payne Katy Wise Anna Newton-Smith
Carly Dixon Paul Murphy Paul Murphy
Sam Davis Rae Guest Rae Guest

Shane Fetherstonhaugh Henry Cecil Henry Cecil
Brian Groves Sir Michael Stoute Sir Michael Stoute
Carly Frater Jane Hedley Mark Johnston
Sarah Auld Louise Allen Jim Boyle
Emily Scragg John Gosden John Gosden
Om Prakesh Marcus Tregoning Marcus Tregoning
Nuno Santos Tom Dascombe Tom Dascombe
Elizabeth George Ed McMahon Ed McMahon
Glenroy Brown John Gosden John Gosden
Donna Wallis Sian Bullock/ Christopher Clarke Martin Keighley

David Wells Thomas Grantham Roger Charlton
Richard White Phillip Hobbs Phillip Hobbs
Malcolm Winter Ben Chapman William Jarvis
Catherine Morse Simon Sweeting Overbury Stud
Timothy Potts Luca Cumani Luca Cumani
Sheraz Khan Jeremy Noseda Jeremy Noseda
John Lake Marcus Tregoning Marcus Tregoning
Stuart Messenger Sir Michael Stoute Sir Michael Stoute
Stephanie Cassidy John Long, Martin Gibbs, Essex Racing Club, Peter Saxon, Michelle Fernandes John Long
Sarah Nicholson Lucy Wadham Lucy Wadham

David Cartledge Joe Grimwade The Royal Studs
Neil Mansfield Dr Bridget Drew OBE Mildmay Farm & Stud
Philip Redhead Henrietta Duchess of Bedford Bloomsbury Stud GB
Keith Warburton Emma Hockenhull Shade Oak Stud
Hazel Woods Chris Budgett Kirtlington Stud
Sandra Morton Rosemary Pease Folly Farm Stud
Paul Smith Lady Carolyn Warren Highclere Stud
Alan Ridger M H Tompkins Garrowby Stud
Roy Gedge Anthony Oppenheimer Hascombe and Valient Stud
Jodie Elson Barry Reilly Woodcote Stud

Christine Hannaford Tony Newcombe, John Lovejoy, Louise Bond, Juliet Allard, Kirsty McCarthy, Keely Douker Tony Newcombe
Dawn Lethaby Philip Hobbs Philip Hobbs
Bee Chapman William Jarvis William Jarvis
Jimmy Scott Sir Michael Stoute Sir Michael Stoute
Larry Wargen Luca Cumani Luca Cumani
Louisa Allen Jim Boyle Jim Boyle
Chris Conway Nicola Jones Michael Bell
Colin Nutter William Butler Sir Mark Prescott
Clifford Baker Dan Skelton Paul Nicholls
David Barker Alan King Alan King

For further information or imagery, please contact Amy Sherman, BHA Promotions Manager, on 020 7152 0115 / 07554 400150 or [email protected] or Kelly Barnes, BHA Promotions Assistant, on 020 7152 0164 or [email protected]