Finalists for Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2017 announced 

06 Jan 2017 Grassroots

Following this year’s record nominations, the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) has today announced the finalists for the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2017.

The panel of 12 judges have overseen 301 applications and taken on the task of narrowing them down to just three finalists in each of the six categories.

Brough Scott, Chairman of the Judging Panel said:

“Judging the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards makes you appreciate the commitment of those who work closest to the horses. For the judges it is also both an honour and annual heartache to pick out just three finalists from such obviously deserving nominees.”

The final stage of judging will take place in London on the day of the awards ceremony, Monday 20 February 2017, where finalists will be interviewed face-to-face by the judges who will then decide the winners and runners-up for each category. The results will be revealed later that evening at the gala awards ceremony at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers hotel in Knightsbridge by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

The finalists are as follows:

Leadership Award:

Michael Finn – Graeme McPherson
Hayley Kelly – Mark Johnston
Rory O’Dowd – Brian Meehan

Rider/Groom Award:

Jamie Bunsell – Paul Henderson
Jason Favell – William Haggas
Chetan Singh – Andrew Balding

Stud Staff Award:

Jo Brown – Overbury Stud
Terry Doherty – Watership Down Stud
James Fitzjohn –  Swanbridge Bloodstock

Dedication to Racing Award:

Kim Jones – Malcolm Saunders
Colin Nutter – Sir Mark Prescott
Bryn Walker – Hugo Palmer

David Nicholson Newcomer Award:

Anthony Lynch – Wadacre Stud
June Palmer Kimpton – Ben Haslam
Elisha Whittington – Tom Dascombe

Rory Macdonald Community Award:

Gary Humphries – Godolphin
Sarah Monkman – Racing Welfare
Kevin Parsons – National Association of Stable Staff

Notes to editors:

1. The categories are: Leadership Award, Dedication Award, Rider/Groom Award, Stud Staff Award, David Nicholson Newcomer Award and Rory MacDonald Community Award,.

2. The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. The winner of this award will also receive an additional prize of a 5 day Educational trip to Dubai. Return flights and accommodation in a 5* hotel included.

The winner of the Rory MacDonald Community Award will receive £5,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice. The two runners-up will receive £2,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

3. Last year saw the launch of the ‘Rory MacDonald Community Award’, which will acknowledge those who support stud and stable staff or have made an outstanding contribution to benefit the wider racing community. The Awards provide an opportunity for the racing industry to highlight and thank the hard work put in by stud and stable staff across the country, and this award in particular acknowledges people who have had a positive impact on their community.