31 Jan 2013 Pre-2014 Releases

Banner Header 2

The long-lists of 10 nominees have today been announced in each category of the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards.

From a record number of entries for this year’s Awards, which carry prize money of £120,000, 10 outstanding nominees have been selected in each of the six categories. Those nominees will now be interviewed by members of the judging panel before a short-list of three finalists is decided in five of the categories.

The judging panel, overseen by Brough Scott, includes the former trainers Ian Balding and Jack Berry and the well-respected Dinah Nicholson, whose late husband David has the Newcomer category named in his honour, together with George McGrath, Chief Executive of the National Association of Stable Staff (NASS), Judith Allen, Executive Director of the British Horseracing Education and Standards Trust (BHEST), and Kerry Murphy, Chief Executive of the European Breeders’ Fund (EBF).

The three finalists in each category will be invited to meet with the judges in London on Sunday March 3rd to decide the winner. The winner in each category will be announced during the awards ceremony at the Jumeriah Carlton Tower hotel in London on Monday March 4th. The finalists will also be guaranteed a cash prize, which will be matched by Godolphin and distributed to each of their yards.

The winner of the Administration Award will be selected by the judges at the long-list stage, with the winner invited to attend the awards ceremony in London along with the other winners.

The winner of the Employee of the Year award will be decided by the judges from among the winners of the High Achiever, Rider/Groom, Stud Staff and Dedication to Racing categories.

Long-listed nominees:

David Nicholson Newcomer Award:

Zack Davidson (Richard Philips); Holly Harper (Rose Dobbin); Paige Jeffries (Robin Dickin); Stephanie Joannides (William Haggas); Adam McLean (Derek Shaw); Laura Parker (Philip Hobbs); Laura Hamilton-Smith (Chasemore Farm); Maria Scremini (Luca Cumani); Jack Teal (Malcolm Jefferson); Jean Van Overmeire (Roger Varian).

Stud Staff Award:

Fay Cort (Wood Hall Stud); Cheryl Cory (Goldford Stud); Sarah Goodwin (Fittocks Stud); Kevin Gossage (Aislabie Stud); Keith Knowles (Highclere Stud); Gill Murphy (Stowell Hill Stud); Nicky Strippel (Beech Tree Stud); Keith Warbuton (Shade Oak Stud); Ginny Whales (Ashbrittle Stud); Terence Wybrew (Bugley Stud).

Rider/Groom Award:

Pernilla Andersson (Luca Cumani); Daniel Blackett (Eve Johnson Houghton); Paul Burns (Brian Meehan); Kaye Gilligan (Mark Johnston); Caroline Hovington (Edward Walker); Andrew Lane (James Given); Alison Marshall (Mark Johnston); Seamus O’Gorman (Saeed bin Suroor); Natalie Parker (Philip Hobbs); Emily Scragg (John Gosden).

High Achiever Award:

Mohammed-Nadeem Agwani (Mahmood Al Zarooni); Anthony Cromby (Sir Michael Stoute); Dominique Dainton-McElroy (Donald McCain); Joanne Fowles (Roger Varian); Andrew Larnach (Mark Johnston); Maria Leader (William Muir); Rory O’Dowd (Brian Meehan); Gary Plasted (Ralph Beckett); Garry Rothwell (John Gosden); Robin Trevor-Jones (Edward Dunlop).

Dedication to Racing Award:

Brian ‘Jock’ Bennett (Mark Johnston); Jonathon Dodd (Louella Stud); Shane Fetherstonhaugh (Sir Henry Cecil); William Gleed (Marco Botti); Peter ‘Greeky’ Hawkins (Brian Meehan); Maria Harris (William Haggas); Clifford Marsden (Luca Cumani); Gerry McCormick (John Gosden); Steve Raymont (Roger Charlton); John Smith (Henry Candy).

Administration Staff Award:

Jacqueline Connor (Mark Johnston); Mary Geymell (Simon Dow); Jim Hiner (Roger Varian); Beverley Nealon (Evan Williams); Chris Penney (Richard Guest); Lindy Rees (Andrew Balding); Patrizia Rule (Juddmonte); Peter Shoemark (John Gosden); Alie Tyers (George Margarson); Sarah West (Paul Nicholls).