New ROA President Charlie Parker to join BHA Board

26 Jun 2020 BHA Features Financial/Political

The new President of the Racehorse Owners’ Association (ROA), Charlie Parker, is to join the Board of the British Horseracing Authority (BHA). Charlie Parker replaces his predecessor as ROA President, Nicholas Cooper, as one of the two member nominated directors appointed collectively by the ROA, Thoroughbred Breeders Association (TBA) and National Trainers Federation (NTF) – on behalf of the licensed personnel – alongside Luca Cumani who joined the BHA Board in October 2019.

Charlie Parker said:

“I am delighted to be joining the board of the BHA on behalf of the Horsemen’s Group. We face huge challenges across our industry which must be tackled together if we are to ensure the sport we all love can recover from the current crisis and grow into a more robust model in the future.”

The BHA Chair, Annamarie Phelps, said

“Charlie will be a valuable addition to our team of Directors and I look forward to working alongside him, our colleagues nominated by racecourses, and the independent members of our Board. I’d like to thank Nicholas for his contribution to the BHA Board in what has been a challenging period for racing.”

Charlie Parker begins a three-year term as BHA Director on 1 July.

Charlie Parker Biography

Charlie Parker owns and manages Crimbourne Bloodstock, a privately-run stud business. A chartered accountant by profession, Charlie’s commercial business career was in membership-based health and fitness businesses and commercial golf courses. Charlie has broad commercial and financial experience including property development, insurance and leisure businesses.

He has been an owner for over 25 years with both flat and national hunt horses. He lives in Lambourn with his wife and two daughters at Windsor House Stables, the base of trainer Roger Teal and previously used by Peter Walwyn and Nicky Henderson. Charlie has been elected as President of the ROA for a three-year term starting on 30 June 2020.

Notes to Editors:

1. The full list of Board members can be found here.