19 Nov 2013 Pre-2014 Releases

Banner Header 2

Nominations open today for the 10th annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, with £120,000 in prize money to be awarded to some of the most dedicated staff in the industry.

In recognition of the 10th anniversary of the prestigious Awards, the winners of each of the six categories will receive their prizes during an evening ceremony held before an invited audience at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in London on Tuesday 25 February 2014. Leading television presenter Clare Balding will once again host the Awards ceremony.

The Awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) in association with the Racing Post, are divided into the following categories; the Leadership Award (formerly the High Achiever Award), the Rider/Groom Award, the Stud Staff Award, Dedication to Racing Award, the David Nicholson Newcomer Award and the Administration Staff Award.

The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. The winner of the Administration Staff Award will win £5,000, with £5,000 to their yard or stud. There are no runner-up prizes for the Administration Staff Award.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

Simon Crisford, Racing Manager for Godolphin, said:

“Godolphin is delighted to once again sponsor the prestigious Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards. Now in their 10th year, the Awards are now part of the fabric of our industry and are such a wonderful opportunity to honour and reward the skill and dedication of those who play such a vital role in our industry.”

Nominations are open until Friday 3 January 2014 and can be made by anyone within the industry so trainer, owners, managers and colleagues can all show their appreciation.

The 2014 Award winners will be chosen from a shortlist who will be interviewed by a panel of judges overseen by Brough Scott. The winners will then be announced during the Awards ceremony on the evening of Tuesday 25 February 2014.

Nomination forms will be sent out to all trainers and stud owners and are also available for download at and via Alternatively, email [email protected] or simply text AWARDS to 07584 171551 and a member of the team will arrange for a form to be sent out.