22 Nov 2012 Pre-2014 Releases

EMBARGOED until 00:01am Friday 23rd November 2012

Banner Header 2

Nominations open today [FRI NOVEMBER 23rd] for the ninth annual Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards, the industry awards that recognise and reward the hard work and dedication of those behind the scenes in racing.

Nominations are open until Friday January 11th 2013 and with £120,000 in prize money on offer across six categories, there has never been a better time for trainers, owners and breeders to nominate those valued members of staff whose vital work contributes to the success of every yard and stud.

It could not be easier to nominate members of staff, with entries via a simple form which can be completed online for the first time this year, as well as by post.

The Awards, sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority in association with the Racing Post, are divided into six categories including the High Achiever Award, the Rider/Groom Award, the Stud Staff Award, Dedication to Racing Award, the David Nicholson Newcomer Award and, introduced for the first time this year, the Administration Staff Award.

As well as rewarding individual achievement, the Awards benefit the whole team, with separate cash prizes awarded to the yard of each winner. Two runners up in the five main categories will also receive a cash prize along with their yard or stud.

The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the category winners and will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud. The Award was scooped last year by Clifford Baker, nominated by Paul Nicholls for his role in the massive success enjoyed by such stable stars as Kauto Star.

Godolphin’s racing manager Simon Crisford commented: “Godolphin is delighted to once again sponsor the annual Stud and Stable Staff Awards. The hard work and dedication of all stable and stud staff really cannot be praised highly enough. The Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards are the ideal opportunity for everyone in racing to come together and both recognise and reward the commitment which keeps this sport going.”

Nominations are accepted from anyone within the industry so owners, trainers, colleagues and managers can all show their appreciation for hard-working members of staff.

The 2013 Award winners will be chosen from a shortlist who will be interviewed by a panel of judges overseen by Brough Scott. The winners will then be announced during the Awards lunch at the Jumeirah Carlton Towers Hotel, Knightsbridge, on Monday March 4th 2013.

Nomination forms are also available for download at and via Alternatively, email [email protected] or simply text AWARDS to 07584 171551 and a member of the team will arrange for a form to be sent out.

Full details and terms and conditions can be found at