18 May 2010 Pre-2014 Releases

The British Horseracing Authority and Irish Turf Club are delighted to announce that the prestigious Horse of the Year Award has received in excess of 1,000 votes in just five days since the opportunity was opened up to the public at noon on Wednesday, 12th May.

The coveted Horse of the Year title is to be chosen by members of the public for the first time in the history of the Anglo-Irish Jump Racing Awards, with the winner announced at a London Awards Ceremony next Monday, 24th May.

Five exceptional candidates have been shortlisted for the title based on their official rating and their role promoting the sport, and voting will continue until midday on Friday 21st May.

The five shortlisted candidates are as follows:

·         Big Buck’s: Trained by  Paul Nicholls and owned by The Stewart Family

·         Binocular: Trained by Nicky Henderson and owned by J P McManus

·         Denman: Trained by Paul Nicholls and owned by Harry Findlay and Paul Barber

·         Imperial Commander: Trained by Nigel Twiston-Davies and owned by Our Friends In The North

·         Kauto Star: Trained by Paul Nicholls and owned by Clive Smith

Votes can be registered through the British Horseracing Authority website at stage.britishhorseracing.com/horse-of-the-year/ via a secure voting system. Users are only able to vote once and the results of the vote will remain entirely secure until Monday 24th May, when they will be announced at the Anglo-Irish Jump Awards.

Everyone who votes can choose to be entered into a prize draw to win two tickets to the Awards Ceremony, including a two-course luncheon and complimentary bar.

Additionally, the British Horseracing Authority will be offering the public the chance to have their say on which candidate they think should be the Horse of the Year and why, by calling in and leaving a message on the exclusive BHA Xtra system – responses will be tagged on a map of the country and there for everyone to listen to at stage.britishhorseracing.com/horse-of-the-year/have-your-say.asp. Everyone who calls in and leaves a message will also be entered into a separate draw for two more tickets for the Awards ceremony.

Based on and coinciding with the publication of the Anglo-Irish National Hunt Classifications, the celebrated equine Awards will officially celebrate the highest-rated horses of the season in various categories. The British Horseracing Authority will also honour A P McCoy, Paul Nicholls, J P McManus and Rhys Flint, the season’s Champion Jockey, Trainer, Owner and Conditional Jockey in Britain.