Shortlist for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards announced

03 Dec 2019 BHA Features Grassroots

The shortlist for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards has been announced today.

A total of 203 nominations were received, with the judging panel tasked with selecting a shortlist of ten candidates in each of the six categories.

Both Flat and Jump yards and studs are represented by individuals with a wide range of experience and backgrounds, from those who have worked in racing for just 7 months to those with over 50 years to their name.

The process of selecting three finalists in each category will now begin, with the finalists invited to London on Monday 24 February to meet with the judges. The awards ceremony will take place that evening at The Underglobe on London’s South Bank and will be hosted by ITV Racing’s Ed Chamberlin.

Brough Scott, Chair of the judging panel, said:

“Whilst whittling down the nominations to a shortlist of just 10 for each category is always an unenviable task, the examples of hard work, commitment and dedication shown by all the nominees never fail to inspire.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to all those who were nominated and wish those who have progressed to the next stage of the process the very best of luck.”

The shortlisted nominees and their employers listed by category are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Lucy Branthwaite – Barbara Butterworth
Chelsea Brooks – Ollie Pears
Charlotte Cotgrave – Mark Johnston
Leonie Dalgety – Ralph Beckett
Jess Godwin – Roger Charlton
Bradley Harris – Andrew Balding
Matty Hicks – Ed Walker
Megan Lyth – Emma Lavelle
Jemma Mead – Amy Murphy
Kevin Skelton – Bryan Smart


Megan Giles – Harry Fry
Anthony Gorman – Richard Hannon
Hannah Gregory – Richard Phillips
Leanne Kershaw – Jedd O’Keeffe
Adam Kite – Ralph Beckett
Patrick MacEwan – Richard Hughes
Mat Nicholls – Kim Bailey
James Savage – Michael Stoute
Gemma Spanswick – George Baker
Jarek Stadnik – Richard Fahey


Andre Alencar – Roger Charlton
Rakesh Alva – Bryan Smart
Hayley Ashcroft – Tom Dascombe
Jessica Benfield – Charlie Longsdon
Reeannan Davidson – Sandy Thomson
Darren Forster – Mark Johnston
Ella Herbison – Philip Hobbs
Kate McCormack – Paul Nicholls
Shoab Patel – Stuart Williams
David Williams – John Gosden

Stud Staff

Dianne Best – Cobhall Court
Noel Challinor – Northmore
James Frank – Hascombe and Valiant
Dean Hanson – Far Westfield Farm
John Hernon – Cheveley Park
Tom Hughes – Hazelwood Bloodstock
Patrick Meehan – The National Stud
Richie Rohan – Sicklinghall Stud
Josephine Saunders – Hillwood
Keith Warburton – Shade Oak


Charlotte Burke – Alan King
Brian Clotworthy – Henry Candy
David Crofts – Marcus Tregoning
Kevin Hunt – Andrew Balding
Seanie Mulcaire – Philip Hobbs
Paul Pritchard – Eve Johnson Houghton
James Richards – Ann Duffield
Jane Smith – John Ryan
Andrew Stringer – John Gosden
Philip Wright – Harry Dunlop

Rory MacDonald

Eleanor Boden – Scottish Racing
Amie Canham – Richard Fahey
Julie Lingham – British Racing School
Debbie Matthews – Go Racing Green
Grace Muir – HEROS
Chicky Oaksey – Injured Jockeys Fund
Shelley Perham – National Trainers Federation
Patrick & Julie Scott – Appletree Stud
Simone Sear – Racing Welfare
Samantha Trainor – National Horseracing College

The three finalists for each category will be revealed in early January 2020.

Notes to editors:

1. The Judging Panel for the 2020 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards is: Brough Scott (Chair), Sally Aston, Catriona Bissett, Mark Bradburne, Captain Guy Disney, Mick Fitzgerald, Dawn Goodfellow, Nick Luck, George McGrath, Ollie McPhail, Dinah Nicholson and Hazel Peplinski.

2. The categories are: Leadership Award, Dedication Award, Rider/Groom Award, Stud Staff, Rory MacDonald Award and David Nicholson Newcomer Award (n.b. the David Nicholson Newcomer Award is for people who entered racing within the last three years).

2. The ‘Rory MacDonald Award’ recognises any individual connected directly or indirectly within horseracing, including auxiliary and administrative staff who has made an outstanding contribution to either the racehorses or to the lives of those working within the industry, or on racing’s behalf, in local communities showcasing the social responsibility of our sport, for either equine, humans or both.

3. The winner of each of the first four categories will receive a prize of £5,000 with an additional £5,000 also being awarded to the winner’s yard or stud. Two runners-up in each of these categories will win £2,000 each, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.

4. The winner of the Rory MacDonald Award will receive £5,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice. The two runners-up will receive £2,000, with the same going to a charity of their choice.

5. The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud, while two runners-up will receive £1,000 each, with the same amount for their yard. There is an additional prize for the winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award, which includes return flights, a five-day educational tour of Dubai together with five nights’ accommodation in a five-star hotel.

6. The Awards will also recognise an Employee of the Year, who will be selected from the winners of the first four categories. That winner will receive an additional prize of £15,000, with the same amount going to their yard or stud.