11 Nov 2008 Pre-2014 Releases

Nominations for the 2009 Stud and Stable Staff Awards open today

The Stud and Stable Staff Awards were initiated in 2005 to recognize the achievements of racing’s key staff. They are generously sponsored by Godolphin and are run by the British Horseracing Authority, in conjunction with the Racing Post.

A set of nomination forms along with an accompanying letter will be sent to all licensed trainers and over 300 breeders, who have until 21st December to submit their entries.

There are five categories:
• David Nicholson Newcomer Award (less than nine months in racing)
• Senior Staff (to include yard and travelling staff & office administrators
• Rider/Groom
• Stud Staff
• Special Merit/Hero (includes long service)

Each category winner receives £3,000 and the runner-up £2,000. Category winners then go forward for the overall Stud and Stable Staff Employee of the Year Award and the grand prize of £12,500. An identical amount to category and Employee of the Year Award will be given to respective yards to be shared among the rest of their staff.

Trainers or their representatives can also nominate employees online through the British Horseracing Authority Racing Administration website or, making the process as straightforward as possible. A mock example nomination can be viewed to assist potential nominees and their employers.
Nominations are restricted to one per category, per yard.

Trainers, studs and staff are encouraged to work together as a team and put forward their leading five candidates. A long list of 10 in each category will be selected by the judges, to be reduced to a short list of three by the judging panel. Each shortlisted nominee will meet with the judging panel individually, at the British Horseracing Authority’s Shaftesbury Avenue headquarters, on Monday 16th February, and will be invited, along with their employer to the Awards lunch the following day, Tuesday 17th February, in central London.

A Judging Panel made up of six influential racing and breeding figures will be chaired by Brough Scott, Editorial Director of the Racing Post. His fellow judges are: Kevin Darley (former Champion Jockey), Morag Gray (BHA Director), Toby Balding (former Trainer and now BHA Director), Miles Littlewort (a former Chief Executive of the National Stud) and Dinah Nicholson (widow of trainer David Nicholson).

British Horseracing Authority Chief Executive Nic Coward said: “There’s one key word associated with these Awards – dedication. They give the opportunity for British Horseracing to thank and recognise those who put in such hours of dedication and play a major part in making British Horseracing the best in the world. We thank Godolphin once again for their generous support.”

Richard Dunwoody, multiple Champion Jockey and guest of honour at the Awards last year said quite simply: “I have more respect for these people than for anyone.”

Stable Employee of the Year winner in 2008, Sean Travis, gave the audience at the Cafe Royal in London some amazing insights into his 52 years in racing. Referring to his time with Noel Murless and Henry Cecil and the numerous Classic winners he had worked with, he said “Derby and Oaks winners were expected, weren’t they?” The Racing Post summed him up well by saying ‘his life has always had the horse at its core.’

National Trainers’ Federation Chief Executive Rupert Arnold said: “Nominating stable staff for the awards is the ultimate way to recognise their contribution to a successful yard. I urge trainers and stable employees to join forces to nominate their human stable stars. There’s so much to gain and nothing to lose. Our thanks go to Godolphin for continuing their invaluable and generous support of the Stable and Stud Staff Awards.”

Kevin Darley, a member of the Judging Panel, said: “Jockeys get plenty of limelight when they ride a big winner and get coverage in the papers, but this is the opportunity for those who put in the hard graft to keep the racing wheel turning to get their moment in the spotlight. There’s plenty of deserving people in every yard up and down the country and we implore all trainers and studs to get their nominations in to us.”

Trainers and studs with any questions should contact Sarah Nuttall on 020 7152 0005 or [email protected]

11th November 2008