29 Jan 2007 Pre-2014 Releases

50 employees have today been announced on the longlists for the Stud and Stable Staff Awards 2007, ahead of the compilation of a shortlist of 15 – 3 in each of the 5 categories – who will join Guest of Honour Sir Peter O’Sullevan at the Awards in central London on Tuesday 20th February.

Sir Peter O’Sullevan’s presence will be one of the highlights of the Awards day for all the shortlisted nominees, as his lifetime commitment to racing has ensured he is one of the most established and well-respected figures in the industry. As a legendary broadcaster and journalist, the ‘Voice of Racing’ now heads his own charitable trust which raises large amounts of money for numerous equine charities.

The longlist reflects the outstanding quality and strength of the nominations received for the Awards, which carry £50,000 in prize money and are once again generously sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Board in association with the Racing Post.

The judges will now select a shortlist of three individuals in each of the five categories. All the shortlisted individuals are guaranteed £1,000 each, and will be invited to attend a judging day at BHB’s Shaftesbury Avenue headquarters on Monday 19th February.

The judging panel will decide each individual category winner, who will win £2,500, with an additional £1,000 to be shared by his or her colleagues. From the five individual winners the judges will then have the task of choosing the 2007 Stable Employee of the Year, who will collect a further £10,000, with the same amount to be divided amongst the staff at his or her yard.

Sir Peter O’Sullevan said: “I think the Stud and Stable Staff Awards are unquestionably some of the most significant and desirable Awards made in racing and I’m honoured to be presenting the Awards on the day.”


1. The longlists are as follows:

David Nicholson Newcomer

Harry Challoner, Richard Ford , Stable Lad

Scott Doherty, Mark Johnston, Rider/Groom

Michael Geran, Peter Chapple-Hyam, Stable Apprentice

Kirsty Huff , Suzy Smith , Stable Girl

Kate Lawton , Usk Valley Stud , Stud Groom

Richard Mallaby , Noel Chance, Stable Lad

Ian Popham, Philip Hobbs, Stable Lad

Charlotte Ramage, David Barron, Rider/Groom

Nicola Smith William Haggas Stable Girl/Rider

Christine Walker Albert Ennis Stable Girl


Lisa Baldie, Susan Bradburne, Stable Girl

Joseph Crayton, Paul Cole , Stable Lad

Wayne Fearon, David Barron, Rider/Groom

Lee Hagen, Philip Hobbs , Groom

Jane Lloyd, Richard Phillips, Stable Girl

Shane McGrath, James Fanshawe , Rider/Groom

Lisa McLean, Harriet Graham , Rider/Groom

Richard Pringeur, Sir Michael and Anne Connell, Groom/Work Rider

Shakti Rathore , Jeremy Noseda , Rider/Groom

Rebecca Steel , Suzy Smith , Stable Girl

Senior Staff

Charlotte Burke , Alan King , Racing Secretary

Chris Conway , Michael Bell, Travelling Head Lad

Alan Errington , Simon Dow , Head Lad and Travelling Head Lad

Chris Hinson, Ed Dunlop , Head Lad

Jim Larkin , Sandley Stud , Transport Manager

Jane O’Shea , William Haggas , Head Person

Colin Rae , David Barron , Head Lad

William Reddy , Fulke Johnson Houghton , Head Lad

Peter West , Marcus Tregoning , Travelling Head Lad

Ian Willows , Luca Cumani , Travelling Head Lad

Special Merit/Hero

David Barker, Alan King, Assistant Head Lad

and Assistant Travelling Head Lad

Joanna Hawkins, Brian Meehan , Tack Lady

Liam Higgins , Kim Bailey , Senior Stable Lad

Sira Hornsby , Jeremy Noseda , Rider/Groom

Robert Irvine , Raffin Stud, Stud Groom

Charlotte Kinchin , Paul Cole , Stable Girl

Katie Mawle , Robert Waley-Cohen , Head Groom

Antonia Reid , Nicky Richards , Racing Secretary

Joline Saunders , Richard Phillips , Racing Secretary

Lesley White , Mick Channon , Travelling Head Girl

and Senior Box Driver

Stud Staff

Lawrence Carling, New England Stud , Yearling Manager

Gemma Flack , Trickledown Stud , Head of Sales Preparation

Stephen Lomas , Sandley Stud , Stallion Man

Dan Lott , Shadwell Estate – Yard Foreman,

Nunnery Stud

Stephen Murray, Shadwell Estate – Salsabil Stud, Yardman

Lynda Ormanby , Juddmonte Farms- Wargarve Stud, Stud Hand/ Transport

Peter Preece , Whitsbury Manor Stud, Stud Hand

Sarah Sarson , The Elms Stud , Stud Groom

Colin Smith, Cheveley Park Stud , Second Man

John Wall , Stratford Place Stud, Stud Groom/Manager

2. The judging panel is as follows:

Michael Caulfield, Sports Psychologist

Richard Dunwoody, Former Champion Jockey

Jim Gale, Chief Executive of the Northern Racing College

Dinah Nicholson, BHB Bloodstock Representative

Gavin Pritchard-Gordon, Executive Director of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association

Chairman of the Judging Panel is Brough Scott.