31 Jan 2007 Pre-2014 Releases

The names of the shortlisted employees for the Stud and Stable Staff of the Year Awards 2007 are revealed today, ahead of the Awards luncheon in central London on Tuesday 20th February.

Each shortlisted individual is guaranteed £1,000, and will now meet the judging panel at BHB’s Shaftesbury Avenue headquarters on the eve of the Awards. The individual category winners chosen that day will win £2,500, with an additional £1,000 to be shared by his or her colleagues.

The Stable Employee of the Year, to be selected from the five individual winners, will collect a further £10,000, with the same amount to be divided amongst the staff at his or her yard.

The shortlists are as follows:

Nominee Employer Position

David Nicholson Newcomer

Kirsty Huff Suzy Smith Stable Girl
Newcomer Charlotte Ramage David Barron Rider/Groom
Nicola Smith William Haggas Stable Girl/Rider

Stud Staff

Lawrence Carling New England Stud Yearling Manager
Stephen Lomas Sandley Stud Stallion Man
Sarah Sarson The Elms Stud Stud Groom


Lee Hagen Philip Hobbs Groom
Wayne Fearon David Barron Rider/Groom
Joseph Crayton Paul Cole Stable Lad

Senior Staff

Alan Errington Simon Dow Head Lad and
Travelling Head Lad
Chris Hinson Ed Dunlop Head Lad
Peter West Marcus Tregoning Travelling Head Lad

Special Merit/Hero

Liam Higgins Kim Bailey Senior Stable Lad
Sira Hornsby Jeremy Noseda Rider/Groom
Joline Saunders Richard Phillips Racing Secretary

The shortlisted employees are drawn from studs and training establishments right across the country, from Suzy Smith’s yard in Lewes, East Sussex, to David Barron’s operation at Thirsk in North Yorkshire, where two of the shortlisted employees are based. Four of the fifteen individuals work for studs or trainers in Newmarket, and Philip Hobbs has a nominee in the Rider/Groom category, having also put forward last year’s Stable Employee of the Year Liz Welsh.

Over 110 nominations were received in total.


1. The Stud and Stable Staff Awards, carrying £50,000 in prize money, are sponsored by Godolphin and organised by the British Horseracing Board in conjunction with the Racing Post.

2. The judging panel is as follows:

Michael Caulfield, Sports Psychologist
Richard Dunwoody, Former Champion Jockey
Jim Gale, Chief Executive of the Northern Racing College
Dinah Nicholson, BHB Bloodstock Representative
Gavin Pritchard-Gordon, Executive Director of the Thoroughbred Breeders Association

Brough Scott, Editorial Director of the Racing Post, is Chair of the judging panel.