31 Jul 2007 Pre-2014 Releases

  • New governing body starts today
  •’s content boosted, with online Orders and Rules launched
    The British Horseracing Authority today formally launches as the single, unified governing body for British Horseracing. Its role is to regulate, promote and represent the sport.

    A major step in the modernisation of British Horseracing, the Authority takes on the roles of the British Horseracing Board and the Horseracing Regulatory Authority, with both of those organisations ceasing to exist.

    The Authority sits at the head of a sport second only to football in Britain in terms of its revenues and attendances, and an industry responsible, directly or indirectly, for almost 90,000 full-time jobs. Its inaugural Chairman is Paul Roy, with Nic Coward its first Chief Executive.

    Alongside the Chairman and Chief Executive, the remainder of the eight-strong Board, which has a strong emphasis on independence and decision-making in the best interests of British Horseracing as a whole, is as follows:

    • Toby Balding – Member Nominee Director
    • John Bridgeman – Independent Regulatory Director
    • Morag Gray – Independent Director
    • Ben Gunn – Independent Regulatory Director
    • Jim McGrath – Independent Director
    • Ian Renton – Member Nominee Director

    Today also sees the online launch of British Horseracing’s Orders and Rules on For the first time, the regulations under which the sport is run, regulated and administered are accessible on a fully searchable and easy to navigate website.

    Other new additions to include downloadable Official Ratings – which are updated on a weekly basis by the Authority’s team of handicappers – detailed live non-runner and going reports and information covering the full range of the Authority’s activities.

    British Horseracing Authority Chief Executive Nic Coward said: “The British Horseracing Authority is a fresh start, with the backing of all sectors of the industry. We are here to listen, and to take a lead, looking to achieve the best for British Horseracing in all that we do.

    “We have an enthusiastic team in place and are building a clear picture of the opportunities and challenges ahead.”


    Member Organisations

    The British Horseracing Authority’s member organisations are the Racecourse Association, the Racehorse Owners Association, the Thoroughbred Breeders Association and a group representing Licensed Personnel.