Ryan Moore announced as guest presenter for 11th Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards

30 Oct 2014 Grassroots

One of the world’s best jockeys Ryan Moore will present the trophies at the Godolphin Stud and Stable Awards 2015, taking place at the Jumeirah Carlton Tower Hotel in Knightsbridge on Monday 23 February 2015.

He will join presenter Clare Balding on stage in front of an audience that will include leading industry figures and media as well as the finalists, their colleagues and family.

Three-time Champion Jockey Moore said:

“I’m delighted to be asked to be the guest presenter for the Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards. Hard-working, committed staff look after the racehorses in their care to exceptionally high standards and these Awards are an opportunity show appreciation and recognition for all the work that goes on behind the scenes.

“I’m lucky enough to have worked with some of the very best and their dedication and commitment never fails to amaze me, I’m just glad to be able to give something back in a very small way.”

Channel 4 Racing presenter Clare Balding said:

“These Awards showcase the outstanding dedication, expertise and workmanship of those individuals who are at the heart of racing. These are the people who are closest to the horses, who look after them on a daily basis and get to know each horse’s individual traits and quirks. These Awards are an opportunity for racing to recognise and applaud stud and stable staff and I’m delighted to show my support for them again this year.”

On the night the winners will be announced in the categories of Leadership, Rider Groom, Stud Staff, Dedication to Racing, David Nicholson Newcomer Award and Administration Staff Award. In each of the first five categories the judges will narrow down the shortlist of three finalists, to decide on one winner during an interview process on the morning of the Awards. The winner of the Administration Award will have already been decided and announced at the ceremony.

The winner of each of the Leadership, Rider Groom, Stud Staff, Dedication to Racing categories will receive £5,000, with both runners-up receiving £2,000. The winner of the Administration Staff Award, for which there is only one finalist, will also receive £5,000. The winner of the David Nicholson Newcomer Award will receive £2,000, while the two runners-up will receive £1,000.

It is not just the finalists that will be rewarded as a result of their achievements, in each category the amount of money won by both the winners and the runners-up will be matched and awarded to their respective yards, to be shared amongst employees, recognising and acknowledging the hard work and dedication of their colleagues.

The Employee of the Year 2015 will be selected from the winners of the first four categories and announced at the ceremony. The Employee of the Year will receive an additional £15,000, with the same amount will be awarded to their yard.

Nominations are still open for the Awards. The deadline for nominations for the Awards is Friday 12 December 2014.  All nominations made before 1 November will receive a 50 per cent discount on Racing Post Books orders.

Nomination forms can be completed and submitted online: https://britishhorseracing.wufoo.eu/forms/the-godolphin-stud-and-stable-staff-awards-2015/

Nomination forms are available for download at stage.britishhorseracing.com/stablestaff and via www.racingpost.com.

Alternatively, email [email protected] or simply text AWARDS to 07584 171551 and a member of the team will arrange for a form to be sent out.


Notes to editors:

1. The Awards are generously sponsored by Godolphin and run by the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) with support from the Racing Post.

2. To continue to improve the Awards, this year sees revisions to the judging process. For further details see: https://www.britishhorseracing.com/press_releases/nominations-open-2015-godolphin-stud-stable-staff-awards/

3. The revised judging panel was announced earlier this month, for details see: https://www.britishhorseracing.com/press_releases/new-judging-panel-announced-2015-godolphin-stud-stable-staff-awards/